The Great Spotted Kiwi

Apteryx haastii

The Kiwi is the national bird of New Zealand. It is flightless, its feathers appear as hairs.

There are three (3) species of Kiwi, one with three sub-species :

Brown Kiwi
North Island Brown
South Island Brown
Stewart Island Brown
Great Spotted
Little Spotted

Great Spotted KiwiArthur's Pass National Park is home to the Great Spotted Kiwi. Both the Great & Little Spotted Kiwis are only found in the South Island.

Kiwis are mainly nocturnal, however can still function during the day if the need arises. It is not un-usual to see Kiwi on Stewart Island foraging for food mid-afternoon.

Kiwi eat berries, insect lavae and worms, using their long beaks to hunt down both the later.

They nest in natural or excavated holes under stones, in stream banks, between tree roots or even on open, flat ground. The female lays 1 or 2 highly-glazed, ivory white or greenish eggs which are extremely large and may weigh up to one quarter of the adult birds weight. Eggs are incubated by the male.

Unique Visitors: 0   Page Counter: 0   Page Updated: 31/08/2014   Page PHP: 5.6.38   Site Map
Copyright © Graeme Kates NZ 2018. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.